Let Kundalini Yoga Be Your Guide: 7 Poses To Help You Navigate Retrograde

04.26.2016 Uncategorized
Taylor Eyewalker
Trending Editorials
Benefits of Pelvic Steaming
The Sovereign Journey Into the Self with Zach Bush, MD
Healing with Saffron

Three times a year the orbiting path of Mercury in relationship to Earth causes a pattern that is described as “retrograde.” These periods last about 3 weeks each.

The yogis understood these as periods of challenge in the subtlety of communication and connection. Think of it this way: Long before we open our mouths, our magnetic fields have come into contact with the other person. If the magnetic field is subject to a special pull during these periods then the magnetic fields that are interacting are different. We’re different. Instruments of communication that rely on these magnetic fields are also subject to the changes in them from planetary influence.

Yogi Bhajan, who was asked about this, said: “If we didn’t have these three periods a year the human would go crazy from the upward spiraling energy of communication and connection. A time of rest is absolutely essential.” When Mercury goes into the retrograde pattern, there may not be as much energy for connection outwardly, so the yogis counseled to use that time to go inward.

Together while we practice and in the spaces between, train yourself to listen deeply, feel deeply, and be aware without thinking. These are the basic faculties that must be awakened to activate your inner-guidance system and to be able to use it. The breath works on strengthening the nervous system and calming the mind, which makes it possible to listen, feel, and be conscious. It is a great pleasure to activate your capacity to use these faculties and to become more connected to your inner self. You will enjoy a profound happiness that awakens within. You will know because a smile will appear on your face for no identifiable reason.

Here we include the directions that you are guided through in the video for reference! Sat Nam.

1 | In Easy Pose, place left hand over the heart chakra, right hand facing forward with thumb over last three fingers, forefinger pointed up. Right arm is to the side and very slightly back so you can feel an activation at the heart chakra and in the spine at the level of the heart. Pull up on the diaphragm and back of the neck to keep the spine activated and straight, with no weight on the buttocks. Inhale slowly and deeply through the nose, suspend the breath, then exhale slowly with a whistle through the mouth. With each breath, reach deeper into your heart and inner space. Connect with the silence, the stillness, and the purity of your soul. Find the quality that is the essence of your soul and merge with and enjoy that quality. Practice for 5 to 7 minutes.

2 | Place left hand in the same position as the right hand in exercise #1. Right hand is slightly above the crown chakra or lightly touching. Feel the sensation at the crown to determine the right position. You may feel a pulse and the hand will create an activation. Maintain the upward pull on the spine. Continue with the same breath for 4 minutes.

3 | Bring your hands above your head, palms touching, thumbs interlaced, and fingers pointing up. Stretch your spine from your armpits. Continue with the same breath and feel the activation in the spine. Continue for 2 to 3 minutes.

4 | Place left hand on the chest at the level of the heart, right hand on top. Feel deeply into your heart space that expands to include head, heart, and body. Feel the wave of your breath in your chest connect your whole being in oneness. Continue for 3 to 4 minutes or more.

5 | Place your hands (right on top of left) on your navel. Chant HAR as you press the navel gently with your hands. 3 minutes. Feel the HAR connect heart and navel.

6 | Interlace your arms in front of your chest, hands grab on to the opposite arm above the elbow. Hold arms shoulder level, parallel to the ground. Inhale deeply, suspend the breath for 10 seconds or more, squeeze the muscles of the whole body and pressurize the spine with the locks. Exhale powerfully. Inhale again and repeat 2 more times.

7 | Simply be available to receive messages from your inner-guidance system. Mind, navel, and heart have merged into a coherent inner-guidance system. Listen and feel deeply with consciousness. Absolutely resist thinking!

This is Kundalini Yoga as taught by Yogi Bhajan.


In Your Inbox